Convicted Artist Magazine

Jun 02nd
  • Login
  • Registration
    Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Text size
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Boxing Lennox Lewis, Marvin Johnson and Greg Haugen inducted into the World Boxing Hall of Fame
Share |

Lennox Lewis, Marvin Johnson and Greg Haugen inducted into the World Boxing Hall of Fame


On Saturday November 15th at the LAX Marriott, we were fortunate to share the evening with world class boxing athletes, managers, promoters, trainers and friends at 2008 World Boxing Hall of Fame.

Every year a group of the top boxing experts decide who will be inducted into the World Boxing Hall of Fame. Ballots are distributed and the opinions of these boxing experts are utilized to nominate the next great class of inductees. This year the World Boxing Hall of Fame welcomes the class of 2008 inductees Lennox Lewis, Marvin Johnson, Greg Haugen, and Pernell Whitaker.  The 2008 Expanded Category included boxing pioneer Gilbert Mendoza, World Famous Trainer & cut-man Miguel Diaz,  Boxing Promoter Akihiko Honda of Teiken Promotions, and Eduardo Alberto Reyes owner of world famous Cleto Reyes Boxing Gloves.

Among those attending was Boxing legend and trainer Freddie Roach , beautiful Mia “The Knockout” St. John, Boxing Promoter Jackie Kallen, welterweight boxer Alfonso Gomez from “The Contender” and boxing heavyweight legend Tommy Morrison.

Lennox Lewis (41-2-1, 32 KO's):  The most dominate Heavyweight in our generation. Lewis was recently inducted with Armando Muniz at the inaugural World Boxing Council’s (WBC) Legends of Boxing Hall of Fame Museum Awards.

Greg Haugen (40-10-1, 19 KO's): Two time IBF lightweight champion. Haugen’s career began in 1982 and ended it in 1999 He fought fellow inductee Pernell Whitaker, and faced Julio Cesar Chavez.

Marvin Johnson (43-6, 35 KO's): Winning the light heavyweight title three different times and named Ring Magazine’s Comeback Fighter of the year in 1984.

Pernell "Sweet Pea" Whitaker (40-4-1, 17 KO's): Ring Magazine 1989 Fighter of the year and champion in four different weight classes.  .

Isreal Vasquez received the Fight of Year Award for his fight against Rafael Marquez
Dr. Harry  Hwang received the Lifetime Achievement Award.
Sheriff Lee Baca & LA Councilman Bernard Parks both received the Special Recognition Award .
CEO of Golden Boy Promotions received the Humanitarian Award.
Founder and Chairman of Top Rank Inc. Bob Arum received the Everett L. Sanders Award.

The Reyes family of the world famous Cleto Reyes Boxing equipment recieved special recognition for the help in supporting the boxing industry through out the years.
The recently deceased Light heavyweight Guido Bardelli aka Young Firpo received the World Hall of Fame Recognition Award.

This spectacular event was all made possible through the World Boxing Hall of Fame executive board which includes President Adolfo Perez, Executive Vice President Julian Eget, Armando Muniz, Josie Arrey- Mejia, Gewn Adiar, & Deana Y Martinez.  Board of Directors include Dr. Joe Noriega, Frank Martinez, Steve Harpst, Henry Vega, Eugene R. Prieto, Adolfo Perez Jr, Frank Igor, Paul Richie, Gerald Morrison, Ricardo Flores, Trudie Latka, Lou Filippo, Marty Denkin, Jerry N. Roth, Louis Perry, Louis Herrera, Raul Esquivel, Hassan E. Chitsaz and Rick Ferris. Honorary Board Directors include Don Crutchfield, Richard Perry, Carlos Baeza, Paul Hernandez, Frank Pineira, Johnny Ortiz, Rusty Rubin, Terry Hilton, Dan Hanley, Pat Mahoney, and Jim Carlin.

Click Here for Exclusive Photos of the event..

Lennox Lewis looking back on a boxing great :Part One

Add New
Write comment
[b] [i] [u] [url] [quote] [code] [img] 
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
Share |

Dog Boxer Clothing

Latest Boxing News

Latest MMA News